Open Category List

What’s the difference between locking and closing a test cycle?

2 minutesread

When a test cycle is completed, it can fall into two categories, either Locked or Closed.

You can see a brief overview of your current test cycles on your Dashboard.  In the Testing Progress module, you’ll see all Draft, Active, and Locked cycles. You can click on the Testing Progress link in the upper left corner of this module box to be brought to a list of all your test cycles.

LockedClosed1

On the screen showing the list of all your test cycles, there is a toggle that will show either Hide Closed Cycles or Show Closed Cycles. Clicking this will either populate or depopulate your list of cycles with Closed test cycles.

LockedClosed2

Locked: When a test cycle is Locked, you can consider the test cycle on pause, for all intents and purposes – what this means is that work from a testers perspective is complete, and no further bug, test case, or review submissions can occur. Test cycles are able to be locked manually, via the action menu available in the Test Cycles tab within the Dashboard, or it will lock automatically when the end date that was scheduled during the test cycles creation is reached. From your perspective, and from your TTL’s perspective, the work isn’t completed at this point. Bug triaging still has to happen, test cases still need to be reviewed, and other conversations and discussion on the cycle can still occur. Additionally, when a cycle is Locked, it can be Reactivated to allow for more work to be performed, should there be a need for that to occur for any reason (this should be validated first by your PM if necessary).

Closed: When all work has been completed on a test cycle, it is considered Closed. A Closed test cycle prevents additional submissions, and can no longer be edited.

 

0
0
16
2 minutesread

Related Knowledge Base Posts