Open Category List

Working With Existing Test Cycles

2 minutesread

Working With Existing Test Cycles

Once a test cycle has been created, there are a number of options that open up to you, allowing you to further interact with, or modify that test cycle. These different options can be found by clicking on the action menu icon, which is located at the far right of the Testing Progress module, located in your Dashboard.

 
WorkingWithExistingTestCycles

An example of some of the different actions that can be performed in the Testing Progress module.

The different actions you can perform are as follows:

  •      Edit Test Cycle: Allows you to modify different parameters within the current selected test cycle. This can be done when a cycle is in an inactive or active state. Editing an active test cycle will kick off an email to all those actively participating in the test cycle, letting them know of the changes that were made.
  •      Activate: After a new test cycle is created, they are in an Inactive state – or not live. When the test cycle is ready to be run, it will need to be activated by selecting this option from the action menu.
  •      Locked: Locking a cycle will cease all testing being performed and move the project into an Locked status. It’s important to know that no further testing will be able to be performed at this time, though bug triaging can and should still occur. A test cycle will also automatically become Locked when its scheduled test cycle has run its course.
  •      Reactivate: There are occasions where a test cycle must be locked prematurely due to circumstances beyond your or our control, or perhaps the test team has really hit their stride for a great run as the cycle locked. At that time, you will have the option to consult with the PM and TTL of the project to reactivate the cycle and allow testing to continue.
  •      New Build: In situations where iteration is occurring frequently on your product, or in the rare case where a build isn’t functioning as intended, you’ll have the option to upload and attach a new build to the test cycle.
  •      Copy Test Cycle: Copying a test cycle will clone the current test cycle, generating a new test cycle from that clone. You will have the option to copy all current attachments to the cycle, such as builds and documents. This is most often used for iterative test cycles of frequently developed products, when many details are consistent from cycle to cycle.
  •      Closed: When a test cycle has completed its testing, all bugs have been triaged, and no further actions need to be performed, a cycle can be marked as Closed.
  •      Discard: This is used to permanently delete a test cycle from the system.  This can only occur when a cycle is in a Draft status, you cannot discard an Active, Locked, or Closed cycle.

 

0
0
23
2 minutesread

Related Knowledge Base Posts